

# American Subcontractors Association, Inc. NEWS RELEASE

1004 Duke Street • Alexandria, VA 22314-3588 • (703) 684-3450 Communications @asa-hq.com • www.asaonline.com • www.subexcel.com

FOR RELEASE March 23, 2017

Contact: Marc Ramsey (703) 684-3450, Ext. 1321 mramsey@asa-hq.com

American Subcontractors Association Names ASA of Central Pennsylvania Chapter of the Year (Under 50 Members) During SUBExcel 2017 in Denver

ALEXANDRIA, Va.—The American Subcontractors Association has named ASA of Central Pennsylvania its Chapter of the Year (Under 50 Members). ASA of Central Pennsylvania Executive Director Loni Warholic accepted the award on behalf of the chapter.

The Chapter of the Year is presented to an ASA chapter that exemplifies outstanding achievement in chapter operations and member service. To be considered for this award, chapters are required to complete and submit a bi-annual compliance report and an annual best practices report. They also must have achieved net growth in membership in 2015-16 over 2014-15.

ASA named ASA-Houston Chapter its Chapter of the Year (Over 50 Members). Executive Director Brianna Wright accepted the award on behalf of the chapter.

ASA, a national trade organization representing construction subcontractors, specialty trade contractors, and suppliers, presented these and other awards during an awards ceremony on March 18 at Red Rocks Amphitheatre in conjunction with SUBExcel 2017 in Denver. SUBExcel is ASA's annual national convention and is the premier education and networking event for subcontractors, specialty trades, and suppliers. Photos of SUBExcel 2017 are posted in the ASA Facebook Photo Album.

ASA Task Force on Ethics in the Construction Industry Chair Shannon MacArthur, MEMCO, Spring, Texas, and Walter Bazan Jr., Bazan Painting Company, St. Louis, Mo., a member of the task force and an ASA past president, also presented the following awards during the awards ceremony:

# Excellence in Ethics Award

ASA presented its national Excellence in Ethics Award to 11 construction subcontractors for achieving "the highest standards of internal and external integrity for a subcontracting firm." Recipients of the ethics award were:

Air Masters Corporation, Fenton, Mo.

(MORE)

- Banker Insulation, Chandler, Ariz.
- Bazan Painting Company, St. Louis, Mo.
- EyeSite Surveillance, Inc., Chandler, Ariz.
- Haley-Greer, Inc., Dallas, Texas
- Holes Incorporated, Houston, Texas
- Kent Companies, Grand Rapids, Mich.
- Markham Contracting Company, Inc., Phoenix, Ariz.
- Sorella Group, Inc., Overland Park, Kan.
- South Valley Drywall, Littleton, Colo.
- Western Engineering Contractors, Inc., Loomis, Calif.

Applicants of the ethics award are required to respond to questions concerning the firm's corporate ethics, policies and procedures, its construction practices, and its general business practices. Each applicant is also required to submit detailed documentation, including sealed letters of recommendation from a customer, a competitor, and a supplier.

#### National Construction Best Practices Award

ASA presented its National Construction Best Practices Award to three prime contractors: Alberici Constructors, Inc., St. Louis, Mo., Cornerstone Detention Products, Madison, Ala., and Southwest Abatement, Albuquerque, N.M., for demonstrating "an extraordinary level of commitment to best industry practices." General contractors and specialty trade contractors that have signed a contract within the past year directly with a construction owner under which it performs construction services are eligible to apply for ASA's best practices award. This award honors general contractors and specialty trade contractors for their commitment to such practices as safety management, prompt payment, prompt processing of change requests and claims, and effective project scheduling and coordination.

### ASA President's Award

2016-17 ASA President Robert Abney, F.L. Crane & Sons, Inc., Southaven, Miss., presented the ASA President's Award to ASA Treasurer and Vice President-Elect Courtney Little, president and general counsel, ACE Glass Corporation, Little Rock, Ark. The ASA President's Award is given annually by the current ASA president on a discretionary basis to an individual who has helped the president the most during his or her term.

## ASA Innovation Award

ASA presented its Innovation Award to ASA of Metro Washington, citing the successes of the chapter's innovative "Frontrunners" program, its "Industry Education Support Group," and its "GC Meet and Greet" program. Chapter past president Mary Whitlow, Wayne Insulation Company, Inc., Alexandria, Va., and Executive Director Ike Casey accepted the award on behalf of the chapter. The Innovation Award recognizes chapters that have developed creative or innovative programs and services that benefit their members during the previous fiscal year. To be considered for the Innovation Award, chapters are required to complete and submit a biannual compliance report, along with a report about the chapter's innovative program or service, why that program or service was needed, how it was developed, the goals of the program or service, and the results of the program or service to date.

## ASA Executive Director of the Year

ASA presented the Executive Director of the Year to Carol Floco, executive director, ASA of

(MORE)

Arizona, and Brianna Wright, executive director, ASA–Houston Chapter. This award honors executive directors for outstanding performance in overall association management. Applications

for this award must specify the goals that the executive director was asked to achieve, the resources that were available, and how the executive director accomplished those goals.

# ASA Chapter President of the Year

ASA presented its President of the Year to ASA of Metro Washington Past President Mary Whitlow, Wayne Insulation Company, Inc., Alexandria, Va., for her accomplishments as president in 2015-16. This award honors chapter presidents for superior leadership efforts and service to his or her association. Applications for this award must detail what the president's and the association's goals were, how he or she accomplished these goals, and how his or her actions benefited the association.

# Timmy L. McLaughlin Exemplary Leadership Award

ASA presented the prestigious Timmy L. McLaughlin Exemplary Leadership Award to ASA of Arizona President Rita Lawrence, L&L Asphalt, LLC, Phoenix, Ariz. This award is presented periodically to an individual in special recognition of exemplary leadership and is named for Timmy L. McLaughlin, who passed away in 2011 during his term as 2010-11 ASA President. He was general manager of Austin Construction Company Inc., Summerville, S.C.

Founded in 1966, ASA amplifies the voice of, and leads, trade contractors to improve the business environment for the construction industry and to serve as a steward for the community. The ideals and beliefs of ASA are ethical and equitable business practices, quality construction, a safe and healthy work environment, and integrity and membership diversity. ASA commemorated its 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2016.

###